Your world of, by WpDance

Home » Chikarambola » LIGHTS! CAMERA! elECTION!


admin Jun 04,2010 0 Comments


We already know that in the Philippines, there’s a thin line between showbiz and politics. I remembered when a child actor in the 90’s was interviewed and was asked why he entered showbiz, he candidly answered “kasi gusto kong maging presidente balang-araw.”

Indeed, showbiz has changed the political landscape of the country big time. Back then, if you wanted a career in government, or as they say, “enter the world of politics,” you take up Political Science, become a lawyer, get involved in national issues and be very good in debates. But in the past 15 years, it seems that to be successful in politics, all you need is one or two box-office hits (flops will do), some tabloid controversies and a lot of showbiz magazine exposures.
The list of 2010 elections winners or leading candidates with showbiz backgrounds can prove just that:

SENATORS: Bong Revilla, Jinggoy Estrada, Tito Sotto, Lito Lapid

GOVERNORS: Vilma Santos – Batangas, ER Ejercito – Laguna, Daniel Fernando – Bulacan

CONGRESS: Manny Pacquiao – Saranggani, Lucy Torres-Gomez – 4th District Leyte; Lani Mercado – 2nd District Cavite, Dan Fernandez – 1st District Laguna

MAYORS: Herbert Bautista – Quezon City, Guia Gomez – San Juan, Maita Sanchez – Laguna, Mon Ilagan – Cainta Rizal

VICE MAYOR: Isko Moreno – Manila

BOARD MEMBERS: Christopher De Leon – 4th District of Batangas, Gary Estrada – Quezon Province, Teri Aunor – 1st District of Bataan, Angelica Jones – 3rd District of Laguna

COUNCILORS: Robert Ortega – 5th District of Manila; Lou Veloso – 6th District of Manila, Precious Hipolito-Castelo – 2nd District of Quezon City, Alfred Vargas – 2nd District of Quezon City, Roderick Paulate – 2nd District of Quezon City, Gian Sotto – 3rd District of Quezon City, Marjorie Barretto – Caloocan City, Alma Moreno – 1st District of Paranaque City, Roselle Nava – 1st District of Paranaque, Jason Webb – 1st District of Paranaque, Val Sotto – 2nd District of Paranaque, Maybelyn dela Cruz – Dagupan, Monsour del Rosario – Makati.


Add To TwiiterRetweet This Post item information on FacebookShare This Stumble ThisStumbleUpon This Digg ThisDigg This Add To Del.icio.usBookmark This

About The Author

Leave a Reply

Switch to our mobile site